49 – Illegal

This is an illegal braced flip because the bracers start coming down during the flip. The rule is that the bracer must be “in” a multi-based prep with a spotter (3.3.5.d). So, they cannot lower down until the flip is completed, meaning there is contact with the catchers. As a coach, I would make it very clear that she’s caught, then we dip and come down.

In addition to that, the performance of the one on the left leads to another legality issue. The bracer and top release one hand before she is caught. That violates rule 3.3.5.a, which states that both of the top person’s hands/arms are in continuous contact with a bracer. The only time they can let go before contact is on the way down if the top is going to a cradle.

Categories:All Pyramids